The last 30 days, in a nutshell

April really flew by and spring is officially in full swing in Atlanta. Even though the pollen is an inch thick on my car, I haven’t had so much as a sniffle. High-five immune system! So with a little spring in my step, check out everything I’ve been up to this past month.

I’m four weeks into becoming a kick-butt Toastmaster, for which I received the “Fish Out of Water” award the first week for my spastic attempt at a “table topics” response… yikes.

And just this week I gave an impromptu speech on my April Fool’s Day prank, which won me the Best Speech award! What a difference four weeks has made already! I’m still a spaz, just a little less with each attempt.

Jeremy and I went to a Hawk’s game. Watching basketball reminded me of how much I love baseball.

My friend Luanne came to visit. She’s just so darn cool! Not only is she an amazing photographer, but she’s also extremely knowledgeable about the industry. We met at the High Museum for the Henri Cartier-Bresson exhibit and she educated me on the genius behind these incredible photos.

I believe this is his most famous photograph, and I’m pretty sure I could be arrested for taking this picture. Or maybe they would just kick me out of the museum. I think I’m safe now.

As we left the museum I challenged Luanne to a photo-off to see who could take the best picture outside. Even with her camera phone I’m pretty sure she won, but this was my attempt with a point-n-shoot.

My grandparents came to visit!
 

 And the Atlanta Braves season has officially kicked off! Of course the game we went to got rained out, but I still got my Dippin Dots and we walked the entire stadium at least twice sporting our matching raincoats.

My beautiful Gator-blue car took a hit in the Target parking lot. I sucked back tears and apologized to the chick in the red Civic. She apologized back. Neither one of us saw the other, so it was neither of our faults. Or both of our faults. However you want to look at it.

I learned a valuable lesson, though. I often rush when people are waiting on me, like the truck that I thought was waiting for me to back out (and she thought they were waiting for her). I rush a lot in an effort to deliver the least amount of inconvenience to people waiting on me. No more! I was here first, so Mister, you can either wait for me to go in my own time or you can run me over. I never lolly-gag, I don’t have a cool gangsta walk with a limp. I walk on a mission, but I will never again rush… at least, not in a parking lot. Good lesson and it’ll probably cost me about $250.

So that’s my month in review. The next month looks like this:
April 22-24 – Tampa with Jeremy’s family
April 27-May 1 – The Florida Keys for Laura’s bachelorette party
May 12-15 – Back home to Daytona for Laura’s wedding
May 17-31 – Spain & Italy!

See you in June! And don’t forget to check out my travel blog!

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The last 30 days, in a nutshell

  1. gina says:

    love the matching rain coats! haha. so sad about your car! my car had a similar injury, but for a different reason. it was a very sad day and a hard lesson, but my car is fixed and is getting better at evasive maneuvering!

  2. Jennifer says:

    something else is happening in Tampa :*(

Leave a Reply

