I prayed for a surprise

I’m anticipating a major lifestyle change soon (go ahead mom, you can cringe) and to make it happen I need extra financial stability. In addition to my normal prayers, I decided to pray every single day for one month, as often as I could throughout the day, for money. Not tax return money. Not rebate gift cards. Cold, hard, cash from nowhere. I wanted a check in the mail. I wanted a miracle.

So on January 22, 2010, I started praying. I’ve had prayers answered before and I know God wants to give us the things we desire, but it was still hard to ask for money. Especially (and thankfully) because I’m not in a desperate need. Nonetheless, I prayed.

The following Sunday I tithed at church. It was more than I had ever given, mostly because I never have a lot of cash and that seems like a good excuse. I purposely brought my checkbook and gave $50, which isn’t chump change to me but it didn’t kill me either. I folded the check and prayed as I put it in the offering plate.

I prayed every day. I prayed first thing in the morning and gave thanks, then I discussed with Him why I need the financial cushion. I looked at my bank account throughout the day and visualized it showing more. I prayed when I heard someone talking about money; I prayed when certain songs reminded me to.

My one-month quickly dwindled without any major changes. Even worse, I received much less in this tax return than in past years. With only days left I reminded myself that praying this steadily wasn’t testing God, I was testing myself. I was glad that although I hadn’t received anything tangible, I followed through hardcore on a commitment. And even if no changes occurred, I hadn’t lost anything. In fact, I now understood how to pray relentlessly.

On Tuesday evening I walked in the house and saw the stack of mail Roommate John brought in. I shuffled through the envelopes while contemplating the dinner I was about to make.

It finally arrived with five hours to spare.

A surprise reimbursement check from escrow (still don’t know what that is) on my house! The amount was nearly 10 times the amount I gave at church. I just sat there, staring at the check, when I realized the date: February 22. I knew it!

I’m sure some people could discredit my surprise blessing. They could say reimbursements happen during this time every year, but I didn’t know that. I simply asked. If we knew for a fact that our prayers would be answered, how much more diligently and seriously would we pray? And if we’re constantly looking for blessings, how many more would we see?

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I prayed for a surprise

  1. Melody says:

    I love it! I’m so proud of you and I’m happy to watch you fulfill your dreams! Keep praying, girl. He’ll always come through…

  2. Taz says:

    I think this by far is my favorite blog from you. Thank you for being a blessing to me.

  3. jennib85 says:

    I’m glad you liked it 🙂 I told Him the first day that if I did receive something I’d make sure to tell as many people as I could. So this is my outlet!

  4. gina says:

    first of all – i like your new background. is that daytona beach up there? it made me miss the beach. : )
    praying without ceasing is difficult! Praise the Lord for being faithful!

  5. Sherrie says:

    Amen Sister… daughter! I would never cringe at your dreams Jenni, you know me better than that, just want what’s best for you. All I know (and all that matters) is that you’re in good hands, His.

    I love you , Jenni! ~ Mom

  6. Leila says:

    Very nice Jenni! I very much enjoyed reading this post. And congratulations on the windfall!

  7. Rizalenio says:

    Oh wow. An answered prayers. This is very inspiring.

  8. gramma says:

    Being faithful and unceasing. His wish is to give us happiness (and all that we NEED, not want. He knows best. I’m very proud of you Jen – to [pray without ceasing, even though you didn’t see any changes. You found out something, too. To pray relentlessly, for whatever He gives you – .. Amen

  9. Mel B says:

    Jenni,

    Awesome word. Thanks for the encouragement too. Just remember to P.U.S.H. (Pray Until Something Happens)

Leave a Reply

