Ten ways I have changed since age 20

I turned 25 in September and for some reason when people ask how old I am I always reply, “I just turned 25.” Now, ‘just turned’ is a relative term, right? As with most of us, there is a part of me that is holding on dearly to my early twenties. For some reason 23 is always the number that comes to mind when someone asks my age, but alas, I am officially mid-twenties.

Time to reflect.

10 Ways I have changed since age 20.

1. I have learned how to color my eyebrows so that people can actually tell there is something between my eyeballs and my forehead.

2. I no longer jump on Turbo Tax the minute I get my tax return. Since buying the house, I’m scared to death I will skip over some huge section or forget to include information from one of the 1,000 letters I’ve received in the mail in the past 6 months that says “Important Tax Information” on the front. I have a crippling fear of being audited.

3. I can’t imagine anything worse than working at a corporate high rise in downtown Atlanta, which is the entire reason I moved here in the first place. I wanted to run Coca-Cola right after I turned the Braves & Hawks marketing departments on their heads.

4. Every circumstance in my life mirrors a Seinfeld episode. I don’t think I saw one full episode until after I graduated college. Now I’ve seen them all 100 times.

5. I have reconnected with almost all of my elementary school friends, thanks to Facebook.

6. Not a day goes by where I don’t think about running away with Jeremy and traveling the world. I’ve always wanted to travel, but now it’s an obsession that keeps me awake at night.

7. I miss Florida. I miss the water. I miss having classes from 9-12 followed by afternoons at the beach.

8. I can truly appreciate good shampoo.

9. My wardrobe no longer consists of clothes smashed from wall to wall (even though Jeremy might disagree). I have a few good items that I love and wear all the time, so I just change them up with accessories. I’m much happier this way.

10. I want to be MORE LIKE MY MOM: more thoughtful, more considerate, more attentive, more assertive, more creative, more devoted, more appreciative and more forgiving. I never didn’t want to be like her, but I am able to appreciate her more after seeing all that she does (with a smile) for my family.

I figure I have 15 more of these recaps to do in my lifetime. That’s another 75 years. I hear when you get to be (really) old, you count up in your years, as in “I’m almost 90.” I’m almost 26. No. Doesn’t work for me yet šŸ˜‰

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ten ways I have changed since age 20

  1. Sherrie says:

    Thank you for making me cry before I go to sleep, Jenni. One day you will be even more like me, trust me on that! You are the best daughter a mother could ever have and my best friend too. Amen! ā¤

  2. Shauna says:

    This was awesome! I totally relate with ALL of them! Growing up is so peculiar!

  3. gina says:

    dude! you went to the beach?? i didn’t think you went, but once that whole year i was there!! i miss florida too. i miss playing football and being able to dive in the water without getting hypothermia. šŸ™‚ i am terrified of being audited too. i finished my taxes already, but i will check them about 20 times before turning them in next month. haha. yes – a lot of things change between 20 and 25!

    • jennib85 says:

      I won’t even look at my tax information yet. It’s sitting there, unopened, staring at me. I know I’m getting money back but the fear of doing something wrong with no one around to tell me otherwise is scary!

      • gina says:

        the good news is (about taxes) … i’ve messed up twice, in their favor. _they_ caught it, and sent me additional money back without any hassle. but then i went back and tried to figure out how i missed the extra tax credit. last year’s extra tax credit was weird…i still don’t think i qualified, but i thanked them for the money anyway. ; ) haha.

  4. Kasey says:

    I just reading your blogs. They are very entertaining and I can relate to several of these “reflections.”

  5. Kasey says:

    Oops….I meant “love” reading your blogs.

  6. Vital Source says:

    Good Shampoo: any shampoo from Aveda!

  7. Jason says:

    Lol,
    Good shampoo comes from Aveda!

  8. gramma says:

    Your goal to sit COKE up on it’s heels is no longer there??? How awful??? That’s the one thing I really remember from your “early” days!!!!!!!!!! (Except for Mississippi, and Hawaii and Alaska, and a few other ones.)!!!!!!!!!!! Yes, you’re a lot like your mom, and that’s not a bad thing AT ALL!!!!!!!! She definitely is the best cutest little red headed Christmas baby I’ve ever seen. She spent a lot of time in the kitchen Jenni – lots of baking. That red head was stubborn – are you? But your pop pop and I always said “no one was ever gonna talk her into something she knew was wrong” Smiles and laughs a lot, just like you!! Love you both!

Leave a Reply

