What to buy a 9-year-old girl for Christmas

Follow-up: I discovered that my 9-year-old would be happy with anything from Justice (which was just like Limited Too back in the day). Justice clothing is also available at TJMaxx & Marshalls if you’re on a tight budget. In addition, I bought her those fun-shaped rubbery bracelets of Disney princesses and a necklace & bracelet making kit with over 1,000 beads. The kit was only $8.99 at Target. Although I didn’t get to see her face when she opened her gifts, I think any young girl would be thrilled with the surprises she unwrapped.
__________________________________________

This year for Christmas, Jeremy’s family decided to opt out of piling presents under the tree and instead bless some families in need. His mom Joanne went through a list of children provided by their church and let us each choose a kid to shop for.  My girl is 9 years old and I assume lives in the Tampa area.

Initially, I was very excited about the opportunity to shop for a girl! Then it hit me, what do nine-year-old girls want these days? What do they wear? I mean, they’re probably past the whole Disney Princess phase. What about Hello Kitty? What if she’s a tom-boy and despises anything with pink and flowers? Oh, the pressure! If you think I’m over-thinking this, imagine how I well handle Christmas shopping for people I actually know!

As luck would have it, many of my friends from elementary school recently reunited through a Facebook group dedicated to our class. Most of us started in kindergarten together, and since it was such a small private school we got to know each other very well through those early years. Recently, pictures have started surfacing to prove it.

Not sure why I look like such a depressed Laura Ingalls here.

Did I really wear dress suits in fifth grade? I would like to believe I had a presentation that day or something. (Btw, I think that was my first outfit from 5-7-9, if I remember correctly.) Let’s be honest, my fifth grade pictures aren’t exactly a model I should go by when picking things out for this nine-year old.  I swear I was cool back then – even if the pictures aren’t screaming it.

In order to get the most for the amount we’re allowed to spend, I took a trip to Marshalls & TJMaxx after work. Um, unless this chick wants Baby Phatt, Ed Hardy or Polo, the selection was extremely limited. I managed to find a cute zip-up sweater with a hood that had a heart and some rhinestones on the front. I also picked out a comfy bright pink and purple robe (Mom’s idea. She thinks little girls want to be like their moms – at least I did).

I still need to get her some toy-thing. Perhaps something with beads or a jewelry making kit – I was totally into that!

My parents used to let us pick a kid off the Christmas tree at McDonalds, and it was fun shopping back then because I was the same age as the girl I picked! I knew what I wanted! (And hopefully Mom and Dad would take a hint when I picked it out for my girl!) Times have changed and I really want to make this Christmas special for her just like my parents did (and still do) for us kids. Please leave suggestions below! With what I already bought, I need to stay under $20 for the rest. I only wish I could be there to see her face when she opens her gifts!

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What to buy a 9-year-old girl for Christmas

  1. gina says:

    wow – 9 year old girl? i have no helpful suggestions! it’s tough if you don’t know what they’re interested in. hmmm maybe a purse or some awesome sunglasses? good luck!

Leave a Reply

