The Artist’s Way & Motivational Discoveries

In case you haven’t seen my Facebook status posts, the past few weeks have been pretty rough. I worked 6 days last week and I’ll do it again next week. I leave for Gainesville tomorrow to cover a rugby game between the university I work for and UF (my alma mater). Of course I’m going to stay for the UF/LSU game Saturday, so it won’t be all business!

Following repeated suggestions from my life coach, I started The Artist’s Way this week.

It is basically an intense workbook to help you “discover and/or recover your creative self.” It isn’t just for “artists” – everyone is creative. In the past couple months I’ve noticed my creative drive creeping up and overpowering my other wants.Β  I’m no artsy-fartsy Susie, but I can appreciate a well-taken picture (speaking of, Jeremy won a category from that scavenger hunt – we just won’t know which one until next week), paintings, designs, good writing and well made things. Unfortunately for my ego I don’t feel like I have any creative talents worth mentioning here. I try to write. I attempt to draw. My photography skills are as basic as they come.

So what’s a girl to do when she’s 25 years old with an intense desire to get out from behind this stupid desk and dive head first into the creative entrepreneurial scene? No clue. But I’m hoping The Artist’s Way will help me figure it out.

In other news, during this time of feeling a little down and a little lost, I’ve discovered some really awesome people. Danielle LaPorte writes White Hot Truth – she’s a super inspiring, kick you in the butt motivational blogger who pushes entrepreneurs and makes a living consulting and coaching business owners. She’s extremely passionate and very effective with her writing – plus she basically has a cult following.

Another new favorite is Jonathan Fields. Finding him was like… discovering a waterfall in the middle of the desert. I stumbled across this article he wrote andΒ  instantly felt a hint of rejuvenation seep into my bloodstream.

Everyone goes through ups and downs. Works sucks a lot of energy out of life, friends disappoint, hair gets static-y, pants don’t fit and I still haven’t found my driver’s license. It’s really easy to just back off, get reclusive and barely muster up enough energy to get through a work day. I’ve come to the conclusion in the last 24 hours that we needs these ‘weapons back in their holsters’ moments in life too, where we can just back away and hide out for a bit. Not only do these times help us recognize and appreciate the moments when we’re advancing like crazy, but they also help us look outside of our little brains for support and a leg up.

So if you’re feeling super awesome go out and share the love with friends and people who could use some good motivation. If you’re feeling frustrated and blocked, check out The Artist’s Way and the bloggers I mentioned above. It’s a good place to start.

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Artist’s Way & Motivational Discoveries

  1. Rebekah says:

    I thought I was the only one that has read and live “The Artist’s Way,” you’re the first person that I’ve found that actually knows about the book/lifestyle. I’ve always considered myself an “artist” but it seems that not many people knew that about me, so it has helped me a great deal. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did and that you find that creative thing-a-ma-gig you are looking for. πŸ™‚

    • jennib85 says:

      I definitely assumed you were an artist, but it could’ve just been those really artsy-rimmed glasses you wore back in the day πŸ˜‰ I’m so glad you’ve read the book! That means I can come to you when I’m stuck! I’d love to hear what you got out of the book!

  2. Lito says:

    I’m always in search of finding things/people that will spark my creativity. Thanks a lot for referring the book and sharing those links.

  3. Andi says:

    Oh no, don’t work too hard!!! Enjoy FL. πŸ™‚

  4. gramma titus says:

    always knew you were an artist (literally) Rem when you got an easel? You were gung ho then. You still are an artist ;
    maybe more so with words and your brain. You can “see” with your brain what something should look like or, rather, what you see it as,and make it happen. I, on the other hand, can see somewthing in my intellegent mind, but upon making it, it looks nothing like I pictured. That’s life, and I accept it. I was, however, a great mother and I hope a great grandmother. Speaking of which……………………………………………………….Love

Leave a Reply

