A special post for my mom and her cakes

I guess you know you’re getting a little old for birthday parties when your mother asks you to help decorate your own birthday cake. As I’ve mentioned before, ice cream cakes are her specialty, but this time she brought another cake to the party table – it’s called ‘White Almond Wedding Cake’ and it is to DIE for! This is the exact recipe, only my mom uses three round cake pans that she layers for a nice tall cake.

She takes the tops off each layer to make them level, then she uses frosting in between the layers to hold them together. As I said, this is the first time I’ve ever had to decorate my own birthday cake (and let’s be honest, she was within arm’s reach the whole time). She taught me how to do a crumb coat with frosting and we frosted fun pink, black and white pearls all over it.

Then she pulled out this beautiful damask ribbon to add to the cake!

My mom officially took over the almond cake while I got started on decorating the ice cream cake. Yeah, that’s right… I get two birthday cakes!!

The ice cream cake has an open center for a small vase of bright daisies.

The final products:

They both tasted even better than they look. It was a fantastic evening with family, and I give my mom’s cakes all the credit for getting everyone together.

I woke up early Sunday morning from a dream that I received a job offer at Coca-Cola (wishful dreaming). I looked outside and it was still pretty dark, so I stumbled out of bed and grabbed my flops. I knew I could make it to the beach before the sun came up.

This was my view as I walked onto the sand at 6:45 Sunday morning.

Original photo, no colors enhanced, straight from my camera. Clouds billowed on the horizon, which makes a sunrise even more spectacular.

I probably waited thirty minutes before I could officially see the sun rise from the clouds. Tourists gathered on the decks of their hotels with coffee mugs in hand to watch the majesty of the sunrise. Even birds stood still and waited patiently.

Around 7:30 the sun was officially up. If you’ve never seen a sunrise, it looks remarkably similar to a sunset.

After a fun lunch with the family at Red Robin, I made my way back to Atlanta. It was one of the best trips home I’ve had in a long time, and I can’t wait to go back.

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A special post for my mom and her cakes

  1. Sherrie says:

    Gorgeous pics Jen! I used the last one for my desktop background, love it! By the way, it’s time for you to learn how to decorate a cake (if you’re going to be helping me open a cupcake boutique!) Besides, don’t you want to be able to make special cakes for all your little ones? 😉

  2. Lito says:

    I read that the sky produces more hues 30 minutes after the sun sets. Photographing the sky during this period will result to stunning images. This holds true with sunrise also looking at your photos. Wow! Those are wonderful sunrise skies. For me being a visual kind of person, when I look at photos and learned that it’s sunrise photos, it gives me a feeling of JOY while sunset is more on HOPE.

    All your sunrise photos are wonderful.

    Happy Birthday. Cute cakes. 🙂

  3. Rebekah says:

    How did your mom make the ice cream cake? Recipe/directions please 🙂

    • jennib85 says:

      I’m thrilled to say that my mom is doing a guest post on my blog this weekend. She’s making another ice cream cake for my brother’s birthday, so she’ll relay step-by-step how to do it. Maybe I’ll try my hand at that one too 🙂

Leave a Reply

