The night of debauchery

Today was the long-awaited Artist Trifecta scavenger hunt in Downtown Atlanta. Let’s be honest, I was wide awake at 5 a.m., dozed on and off until 6 when my alarm went off, then hit the snooze twice just because I could. I bounced into the shower reeling over possible clues and things I know about the area that could help us on the hunt.

Did you ever have a test in high school or college that you stayed up all night studying for and then when the time came to take it, you had either studied the wrong material or else none of what you studied was actually on the test? Welcome to my day on the scavenger hunt.  There was no way to prep for these clues:

1. I can be black or white. I can be cold or hot. What am I?
2. I hold you up, I keep you out but at times I don’t let you out. What am I?
3. Splat
4. Inside out

These are just four of the 12 clues. Amanda, the owner, said there are no “wrong” answers. Everything was up for interpretation. Awesome.  So for the first hour and a half Jeremy and I wandered. We trekked through Centennial Olympic Park, the CNN Center and Wine Shoe, one of the sponsors of the hunt. Nothing worked and I felt handicapped. That is… until the Night of Debauchery. That’s right, I said it.

We went back to Wine Shoe because we knew we didn’t get “the photo” on our last attempt. I couldn’t stop staring at the gorgeous chandelier over the tasting table, and I knew I wanted to do something with it. This time Amanda was in the shop, so I politely asked if I could borrow her high heels. I proceeded to hang her heels on the chandelier, followed by a wine glass and the featured bottle of wine. It was a good start. I think Jeremy was wondering where I was going with this, but I had a vision… finally! Then I asked the ladies if either of them had on anything with lace. I just needed… I don’t know… a bra, maybe? Before I could even turn around, Amanda yanked hers out from under her shirt and tossed it on the chandelier. I quickly ran out to my car and grabbed another (I always keep a back up), then one more made three bras hanging on this beautiful 1920’s chandelier. It was all in the name of art, of course, and I named it “The Night of Debauchery.”  The final product turned out to be my favorite photo of the day, and it gave us the ‘umpf’ to get the rest of the clues knocked out.

Some of our “answers” were a stretch, but we made it work. My second favorite picture of the day is our response to the clue “Inside Out.” (Jeremy’s idea… I LOVED it!)

Here are some more:

Clue: “Legs”

Clue: “I hold you up, I keep you out, but at times I don’t let you out.” (our answer is girlfriend/wife)

Our top 12 photos are officially edited and submitted – only took 2.5 hours for that part. Unfortunately we won’t know anything until October 8 when the winners are unveiled at the gallery. So, fingers crossed. Some people brought models, others had people dressed in costume, some came solo, some in pairs. I bet the competition is steep, but spending the day forcing creativity out of my brain and eyeballs alongside Jeremy was totally worth it. I learned a lot. Taking a picture of a scantily clad chandelier to reflect the clue “Spin like a record, crazy on a Sunday night” is what separates the men from the boys, or in this case, the handicapped photographer’s helper from the photographer’s favorite assistant.

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The night of debauchery

  1. Sherrie says:

    How fun! Looks like you two had a great time and even used your creative side today (not that you don’t always, haha!) Love the chandelier pic and I bet they will too. We’ll keep our fingers crossed for a big win to pay off.!.!.!

  2. Therese Jordan says:

    I don’t have a “clue” but Good Luck !!!!

  3. gramma says:

    Love the chandelier shot. Whose idea was that – totally cute. What an imagination!!

  4. gramma titus says:

    Love the chandelier. Whose idea was that?? Such imagination!!!!!! Should win, absolutely!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Pingback: 11-Hours VIP Night with Zac Brown on New Years Eve | My Quarterlife Crisis

Leave a Reply

