The Perfect “Last Day”

I turned 25 yesterday. I did it. I made it! Now I can officially enjoy a full-blown quarterlife crisis, since I am now a quarter century. Good stories are to come, I’m sure.

When I woke up yesterday I had no idea what my day would look like. I walked into my office welcomed by a sign stretched across my desk cabinets:

Fans of The Office can appreciate a little Dwight Schrute humor – from my friends Jen and Leila. Also on my desk were two cards and a plate of chocolate/oreo cupcakes from Lauren.

My friend Ginna from the department across the hall came over to see if I was coming to the daily “Power Up” meeting, but since I had a very important meeting in less than an hour I decided to forgo Power Up. About five minutes later, Ginna and the rest of the Student Services department came over, sporting a cake & candle, to sing Happy Birthday. My day was off to a great start!

Jeremy and I checked out of work before lunch and went home to get ready for a day on the town. I picked out this Mexican restaurant, suggested by Lauren, for lunch.

Nuevo Laredo Cantina is FANTASTIC! The salsa is some of the best I’ve ever had. My lunch was incredible and by the end of it, I couldn’t bear to look at another tortilla chip.

After lunch we went downtown to an art gallery that I’ve wanted to see for a while. It’s in the heart of Downtown Atlanta, near Centennial Olympic Park, called Artist Trifecta. I first heard about it through a friend who’s a photographer. This Saturday Artist Trifecta is putting on a photography scavenger hunt downtown. I asked Jeremy a couple weeks ago if he would do this for my birthday weekend. That’s right folks, the celebration continues, gotta milk it! As I’ve said before, Jeremy is an awesome photographer. He definitely has “the eye” for what looks good. So Lauren is coming with us and we will be his assistants for the day. The scavenger hunt it just in the Castleberry Hill and Downtown District, and it goes from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. I promise to take a lot of pictures – it’s going to be awesome.

Before going into the gallery we walked around the area where the scavenger hunt will take place. I have never really been in a city (in the U.S.) where there is so much history and beauty, yet torn down and vacant buildings.

I have no idea what happened to that building, but I love what’s left of it.

After the gallery Jeremy took me to Perimeter Mall for some light shopping. At this point we were so exhausted and still stuffed from lunch that it was hard to walk around without feeling like I was about to collapse.

We took a quick nap on the couch, then forced ourselves to get ready for dinner. We were still full from lunch, but I knew I’d be starving eventually if we waited any longer. We went to The Cheesecake Factory where I dined on my absolute favorite dinner – the luau salad. Next time you go, order that salad – exactly the way it is, don’t change anything! We took the Lemon Raspberry Cream cheesecake to go and made our way across the street to Barnes & Noble. For my last birthday present of the day, Jeremy bought me a leather-bound journal that I’ve wanted since I went to Italy in 2007. I found the perfect one in Venice and I should’ve bought it. This one is beautiful though, such soft leather and the book slides out so I can replace it with a new book when this one is full.

Do you ever play that “last day of your life” game? You’re supposed to come up with a list of things you would do if you only had one day left to live. I truly think that this year’s birthday-day would be my perfect “last day.” I ate like a queen, was surrounded by my closest friends (most of them), spent the day galavanting with Jeremy in an unfamiliar city, visited an art gallery and had more sweets than I can ever count. The only thing missing was my mom and her ice cream cake, my dad pushing on my head saying “I told you to stay little!” my youngest brother Josh making me breakfast in bed and my middle brother Jaron handing me an awesome present still in the plastic bag it came in from the store. Having my family there would’ve made the day 100% perfect, so without them it was as close as it could get. Jeremy was fantastic and made it really special for me. I am extremely happy and there’s still more to come. A group of us are going out tonight for a fun birthday dinner. Not sure where to yet, but I know it’ll be awesome!

PS, wish us luck at the scavenger hunt! If Jeremy wins any of the categories he will get his photos featured in the art gallery!

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Perfect “Last Day”

  1. brandy says:

    I love Nuevo Laredo! So good! I’m glad you had a fantastic birthday… 😉 Good luck with your scavenger hunt – sounds right up my alley!

  2. Therese Jordan says:

    Soooo sorry. I forgot your B/D. So — HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY DEAR JENNY, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO YOUUUU!!!!!! Glad you had a great day & it’s still going on.
    Love & Best Wishes,
    Grandma & Grandpa

  3. jennib85 says:

    I don’t know if I can forgive you for not remembering my birthday, Grandma. I mean, you’ve been celebrating it for 25 years, right? I just don’t see how you can forget! Thanks for the best wishes. Hope to see you sometime soon! (PS, it’s Jenni – not Jenny. Seems like my grandma should know this 😉 )

  4. Therese Jordan says:

    Sorry again JennI. (Guess I was thinking like Forrest Gump, JennY). But your B/D was & will always be a day of celebration. Enjoy, Jenni !!

  5. Lito says:

    Happy Birthday! I enjoyed reading this post. How was the scavenger hunt? Can’t wait to see the photos you will share here.

    By the way, thanks a lot for visiting my site and for commenting. Please drop by again.

    Again, happy birthday. All the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

