I’m King of the Mountain! … of clothes

Yesterday I got a care package from my mom with a few items from Target that I found during our shopping expedition last week, only they didn’t have my size here. I was so excited to hang my nice, new clothes on my cool wooden hangers in my new closet. There is currently a total of 15 things hanging in there and boxes upon boxes of clothes still packed. Part of me wants to just take the packed boxes to Goodwill. I don’t want to go through them, I don’t want to know, just get rid of them. We’ve gone over my unexplainable sentiment for household items though, so you know I’m not capable of doing that.

There are plenty of articles with suggestions for what to do with clothes you don’t want anymore, but what about before that? How do you decide what to get rid of? Believe it or not, I’m actually much better about getting rid of clothes than I am salad spinners or functional things around the house. If you’re looking to make some room in your closet, here’s my checklist for clearing out space:

1. If the color is faded, even slightly. If it’s only been through one wash and you followed the directions, take it back. That’s not your fault. But if you’ve worn it a bunch and the color is starting to look like a dusty version of its former self, toss it.

2. If the shirt/dress has those teeny pulls on it. I hate that, but normally it happens with knit items. A Sweater Stone is useful for getting rid of pilling and balling. If that doesn’t work, toss it.

3. They say if you haven’t worn it in 6 months, get rid of it. That isn’t very helpful for those of us in 80+ degree weather 9 months out of the year. I might wear something in March, then discover it again in October and wear it then. (I love those surprise finds!) I’ve held onto things summer after summer, hoping it’ll fit or that I will have a reason to wear it next year. It never happens. And when you do have the chance to wear it, it will be out of style and you’ll want something new anyway.

I discovered the best way for me to get rid of clothes that don’t have anything wrong with them, but I just don’t wear, is to invite my friends over. In college I would grab all the clothes I didn’t wear often and lay them out on the floor. Then I invited friends over to pick through them and take what they wanted. That helps with things you feel guilty about getting rid of – either because it was a gift or you spent a lot on it. When you know a friend is going to have it, it makes parting with it easier. Plus, once you make that initial step toward getting rid of something, and no one takes it, it’s easier to get rid of all together. After all, if your friends don’t even want it, why should you keep it?

As I continue to unpack my boxes of clothes, I’ll take the time to sift through them carefully since I didn’t have a chance to do that before I moved. I want my new, pretty closet to look nice and organized and not cluttered with junk. I know my efforts will make my house into a home, one that I can be proud of.

Yes.

No.

PS, the new blog look is still in progress. But it’s going to be awesome!

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m King of the Mountain! … of clothes

  1. Therese Jordan says:

    I don’t know about where you are but in Tampa there is an Alpha house, Women’s shelter, St. Vincent DePaul, Catholic charities, Kidney Foundation, Salvation Army, etc. Maybe it would help to lower the mountain if you knew it was going for a good cause. I have the same problem in all things. I develop sentimental attachment to almost everything. After all you’ve been through, mountain climbing should be a walk in the park. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

