Chicken Frickassee!

Last night I made my first homemade meal in my new kitchen. I didn’t have much time before I needed to be in East Atlanta for my friend Luanne’s going away party, but I wanted to cook something I would always remember. I chose one of my favorite dishes that my mom used to make when I was a kid – chicken fricassee!

I picked up a rotisserie chicken, carrots and celery from Walmart on my way home. The process of cooking was really insightful because I discovered how inconveniently I had placed certain things on the counters and in drawers. I couldn’t find anything! I couldn’t remember where I put my potholders and my wooden spoons – it felt like everything was just scattered sporadically around the kitchen.

Needless to say, I will be purchasing kitchen/drawer organizers this week to help me out. I moved the microwave to the opposite counter and I put my new mixer next to the fridge. *sigh… much better.

Jeremy and John loved my dinner. We ate on the couch, which is still surrounded by boxes. Afterward I had a tiny sliver of my Carvel cake. My mom started a tradition when we were little kids that she would give us an ice cream cake for our big accomplishments: getting my braces off, landing my first job, winning class elections, etc. On Thursday night when we met at Mellow Mushroom my mom brought one that said “Happy Ho!” in bright yellow. When the server brought it to us at the end of the night she said, “Does that say… happy ho?” I explained that my mom has been calling me “Ho” since I bought my new house. HO = Home Owner. That’s the only reason she calls me that. There’s still a teeny bit left, so I’m savoring it.

The first night in my new kitchen was a success. And I’m ready to do it all over again tonight! Maybe stir fry…

PS, the next time you see my blog it won’t look like this! Jeremy’s cooking up something fancy for me. Stay tuned!

About jennib85

Learning to give more and spend less, one day at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicken Frickassee!

  1. Anna says:

    My mom used to do the same thing! She bought carvel ice cream cakes for every accomplishment! Glad everything is coming together šŸ™‚

  2. Gramma says:

    Your Mommy must have learned that carvel cake thingy from HER Mommy!!

  3. Pingback: A special post for my mom and her cakes | My Quarterlife Crisis

Leave a Reply

